List of Holidays in India for year 2012 including Bank Holidays

Here is the list of the most common Holiday in the Year 2012. This is the extensive list of holidays which will be common to almost all the state in India as well as in central also. There are additional holidays which will be varied according to different state.

Bank holidays are announced as per the Negotiable Instrument Act (N.I Act), if any of the Holidays are not defined by the N.I.Act , It will not be declared holiday for Bank.

S.No. Name of Holiday Day Date Purpose of The Day
1 New Year’s Day Sunday 1 January 2012 New Year Starting Day
2 Pongal Saturday 14 January 2012 Harvest Festival of South India
3 India Republic Day Thursday 26 January 2012  
4 Milad-Un-Nabi Saturday 4 February 2012 Birth of the Islamic Prophet Muhammad.
5 Maha Sivaratri/Mahashivratri Monday 20 February 2012 Great Night of Shiva – a Hindu festival
6 Holi/Holika Dahan Thursday 8 March 2012  
7 Holi 2012 Friday 9 March 2012 Hindu festival of colours
8 Mahavir Jayanthi Thursday 5 April 2012 Birth of Mahavira, the last Tirthankara – the most important religious holiday in Jainism
9 Good Friday Friday 6 April 2012 Death of Jesus is Christian holiday
10 Easter Monday Monday 9 April 2012 Christian holiday
11 Buddha Purnima Sunday 6 May 2012 Celebrates birth, enlightenment, and death of Buddha
12 Krishna Janmashtami / Srikrishna Jayanti Friday 10 August 2012 Hindu’s festival celebrating for birth of Lord Krishna, an avatar of god Vishnu
13 India Independence Day Wednesday 15 August 2012 Celebrates India Independence
14 Id ul Fitr Sunday 19 August 2012 2012 – End of Ramadan, according to Islamic Calendar
15 Ganesh Chaturthi Sunday-Wednesday 9-19 September 2012  
16 Gandhi Jayanti Tuesday 2 October 2012 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday
17 Dussehra Wednesday 24 October 2012 Vijaya Dashami – Hindu festival
18 Idu’l Zuha/Bakrid Friday 26 October 2012 Feast of the Sacrifice, according to Islamic Calendar
19 Deepavali / Diwali Tuesday 13 November 2012 Festival of Lights – a very important Hindu festival
20 Muharram / Day of Ashura Saturday 24 November 2012 Mourning for the martyrdom of Husayn ibn Ali / Imam Hussain, 10th day of Muharram month in Islamic lunar calendar. (Also often called as Moharram)
21 Guru Nanak Jayanti Wednesday 28 November 2012 Guru Nanak’s Birthday – Shik / Sheik Festival
22 Christmas Day Tuesday 25 December 2012 Birth of Jesus, one of Christian most important holidays.

Enjoy Some Break from the office !!!!

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Digital Banking FAQs & Helpdesk